Sunday, December 1, 2019

If You Love Mid Century Modern...

...you HAVE to buy this book...it's called "The Evergleam Book" and was written by Theron Georges.
As Mr. Georges says in his introduction, you can think of it as a reproduction of the Evergleam Catalog, and so it is.

Filled to overflowing with all kinds of technical information - pictures, charts, price lists, instruction sheets - about various Evergleam aluminum Christmas tree models and related paraphernalia - color wheels, tree stands, replacement parts - it is the definitive resource for all things Evergleam.

But it is so much more than that...from the moment it arrives, looking like the prettiest present under your tree, til the moment you've perused the last page, this book is cover to cover a visual delight.

It's like leafing through the best photo albums and scrapbooks of this unique product from a unique era, but all categorized and organized for your reading and reference pleasure.

The author has even compiled a playlist on Spotify to accompany his book, so you can "listen along" as you explore the wonderful world of Evergleam.

The Charlie Brown Christmas special notwithstanding...
...if you love mid century modern, you "get" aluminum Christmas trees...and you NEED this book.

Buy it here: The Evergleam Book  You'll be thrilled you did.

And don't say I never did nuthin' for ya...

As promised...

...some pics of 2019 Thanksgiving...replete with good food...
...delicious pies...
Karen may have made the pies, but the Cool Whip was my contribution
...and seasonal decor...




...but no people pics.

Their people warned our people we'd be sued if we published any copyright likeness of the attendees...so we made up some instead:
...close enough for government work, I guess.


Since Thanksgiving came as late on the calendar as it possibly could this year, the Diva of Christmas Decorating set me, her humble servant, hard to the task of sweeping Thanksgiving under the rug and splashing Christmas all over the Manor this weekend...
started with my aluminum Christmas tree and color wheel, of course


Santa and crew on runway 36R...it was Karen's idea to have them on the stair step ledge this year, a big improvement...don't know why I never thought of that...


manger scene


holiday wreath

all lit up at night

May not seem like much, but that took most of Saturday...lots of climbing up and down ladders and running extension cords.

Of course Karen continues to transform the indoors as well...






our Koffee Korner gets a holiday makeover


even Sir Kitschalot is getting in the spirit

More to come, I assure you.


I know it's a disappointment...
...but that's gonna have to do for this one, folks.

But never fear, friends...assuming we survive Cyber Monday we'll be back with another thrillin' edition of the Atomic Monster Cafe next week...
...if that ain't good news, I don't know what is.


later, mcm fans...

* Crass Commercialism Corner *

In the "so convenient you can't stand it" department, you can purchase my books here and on Amazon.com!

Get your paperback books here:



Get your ebooks here:




No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.